Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Album

The Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker

The Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker

The Artist

Various Artists

The wait is over
This music is accompanies The Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker, the long-awaited follow-up work to Paul's original best seller, The Stereo. In the 113 pages of The Loudspeaker, we delve deep into speaker setup, and, using the companion music, we continue our journey of dialing in the magic. Take the next step in the evolution of your stereo system. No matter how good your system sounds, The Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker and its requisite hybrid SACD/CD will help unlock what you've been missing. Whether it's polishing to perfection what you have or starting from scratch, these step-by-step directions and companion musical tracks are just what you need. The disc is playable on any CD, DVD, Blu-Ray, or SACD player. The book is available below.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format

Buy together

View full details


The Artists

From trumpeter Gabriel Mervine to pianist Tom Amend and guitarist Bill Kopper, The Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker
is a stunning musical work that, purchased along with its companion
book, will bring countless hours of pleasure to your listening room.
Whether you are a beginning or an advanced audiophile, once you follow the setup steps in The Audiophile’s Guide, The
, you will be able to get closer to the sound of live
music and bring out the missing magic of your system. Imagine your
speakers disappearing and in their place the sound of live music. The
Guide and its companion hybrid SACD (playable on any disc player) take
you step-by-step through the process of dialing in your system. And how
we do it in the Audiophile's Guide: The Loudspeaker is all new. Imagine
disassembling a full track of music from Gabriel Mervine's Quartet,
where each player demonstrates their own sound and how it is played back
on the system. The Guide helps you get each instrument right and then
walks you through how it should sound once the track is assembled and
the band plays fully. This is a new way to get down to details and makes
it easier to focus on tonality and placement. The Guide moves on to
help you get the harmonic overtones right. We've recorded a special
track that focuses on these hard-to-reproduce upper harmonics. It is all
here, plus the last five demo tracks on the Reference Music Disc are
alone worth the price of the disc. Whether you want to challenge your
system, make certain it's working properly, or spend a few hours
tweaking it to perfection, The Audiophile's Reference Music Disc and its
companion book, The Loudspeaker, are both must-have
components. This is one direct-to-master recording you don't want to
miss out on. Each music track is sonic perfection available as a
direct-to-master exclusively from Octave Records.

01 - Paul McGowan - Channel Check Left
02 - Paul McGowan - Channel Check Right
03 - Paul McGowan - Channel Check Center
04 - Chris Brunhaver - Room Bass Response
05 - Gabriel Mervine - Solo Trumpet
06 - Patrick McDevitt - Solo Bass
07 - Tom Amend - Solo Piano
08 - Dru Heller - Solo Drums
09 - Gabriel Mervine Quartet - Whisper
10 - Jessica Carson - Wait
11 - Clandestine Amigo - Depth Check 3 Dualities
12 - Clandestine Amigo - Depth Check 6 Dualities
13 - Clandestine Amigo - Depth Check 9 Dualities
14 - Bill Kopper - The Osprey
15 - Joseph Lamar - Evolve
16 - Thom LaFond - Moods
17 - Andrew Holmes - After All the Dragons Are Gone
18 - Jessica Nilles Kressin - Etude-Tableau in E-flat Minor Op.39 no. 5
19 - Briana Harris Quintet - Caravan

Album Features