Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Album

Audiophile Masters Volume II

Audiophile Masters Volume II

The Artist

Various Artists

Our finest compilation album yet
Audiophile Masters, Volume II is available as a stereo SACD and download bundle and features 10 all-new high-performance tracks, ranging from a spacious string quartet by composer Michael McLean to the soulful funk of saxophonist Briana Harris, the acoustic guitar duo of Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan, and an audiophile solo accordion performance that'll put a smile on your face. The tracks were lovingly recorded in pure DSD using Octave Records’ Sonoma DSD recording system at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado and the cavernous First United Methodist Church in Boulder, CO, to capture the sound spaces of the recording venues with ultimate fidelity and musical realism. This is a limited edition Audiophile Masters that will be a treasured addition to anyone's library. Reference quality tracks. Each and every one a sonic gem.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price $59.00 USD Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


The Artists

The album showcases an
eclectic variety of musical styles and sounds. To name just a few:
Michael McLean’s “Tango” is a string quartet piece that combines the
ensemble’s lively playing with the warm acoustics of Boulder’s United
Methodist Church, with every instrument clearly defined yet with a
smooth ensemble blend. “Amethyst” by Briana Harris captures all the
power and groove of her quintet, a sound that hearkens back to the
classic jazz of the 1950s and 1960s. The captivating “Me and My Baby,”
an acoustic guitar duet by Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan, conveys the
harmonic richness, depth and sparkle of their instruments with stunning
presence and clarity. And…an audiophile reference track featuring
accordionist Alicia Jo Straka’s “Musette au Paris” will make everyone
who hears it a believer – the instrument is recorded with remarkable
depth, complexity and ambience.

01 - Tango
02 - Amethyst
03 - The Cuckoo
04 - Musette au Paris
05 - A Place Called Home
06 - Me and My Baby
07 - Omnitones
08 - Company of Crows
09 - Done you Wrong
10 - Road to Kibuye


The recording was brilliantly captured in pure DSD by Octave Records' engineer, Steve Vidaic at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado. The tracks were later mixed in analog at Immersive studio in Boulder, Colorado by Steve Vidaic and mastered on the Sonoma DSD workstation. Microphones used:

Coles 4038 Neumann U87 Neumann U67 ADK Z-251 BeesNeez LuLu FET KM84 Royer 121 AKG C24 as modified by Tim Paravicini AKG C414 Audix D4 Sennheiser 421 Beyerdynamic M201 EV RE20


Manley Force Vacuum Tube Fred Forssell SMP-2b 2016 Grace Design M201MK2 Summit Audio TPA 200B Neve 5012

Recording System:

Sonoma 32 track DSD recorder Trident 48 channel monitoring system

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • DVD data disc containing DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma DSD system
  • Mixed in analog on Octave Record's Studer analog console
  • DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM download
  • No compression in the mastering or mixing process
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks hand-curated on the Infinity IRSV in PS Audio's Music Room Two
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media