Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Album

The Art of HiFi: Percussion

The Art of HiFi: Percussion

The Artist


A must-have reference disc
The Art of HiFi: Percussion is volume 3 in Octave's new audiophile-centric series. This edition is designed to meet the challenge of properly capturing and reproducing percussion and will put any great system to the test. With a well-curated collection of music and an expertly designed range of dynamics, this album is sure to be an instant favorite in your music collection. Recorded at Octave Studios in DSD256 by Paul McGowan, Terri McGowan and Jessica Carson, this is offered on SACD and download.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details



The Art of HiFi: Percussion features a memorable mix of music and world-class musicians. Christian Teele is best known for his work on internationally syndicated radio show E-Town. His two original compositions, Emergence and The Depth are standouts. Michael Wooten and Billy Hoke are both world-touring drummers and have been great friends for decades. Their Drum Battle is an incredibly dynamic track that they created at Octave Studios in an afternoon of collaboration. From Nico Owen's Selva that creates a realistic jungle soundscape, Banda Guilha's two latin samba tracks, Timpani Shorts by Mike Tetreault to an excellent demonstration of jazz drumming and even an example of percussive guitar by Alfredo Muro, Percussion takes us on a unique musical journey that is both fun to listen to and challenging for your system.

01 - Emergence
02 - Maracangalha
03 - Well You Needn t
04 - Entre Tierra y Mar
05 - Selva
06 - Drum Battle
07 - Gongs
08 - Orchestra Timpani Shorts
09 - Legen of Berimbau
10 - The Depth
11 - Shimbalaie


The Art of HiFi: Percussion was recorded exclusively at Octave Studios in Pure DSD256. Production Credits: Paul McGowan- recording and mix engineer, producer Jessica Carson- executive producer, producer, assistant recording and mix engineer Terri McGowan- assistanting Gus Skinas- mastering engineer Emilie Druss- Art & digipak design Recorded and Mixed at Octave Studios, Boulder, CO 1. Emergence – Christian Teele 2. Maracangalha – Banda Guilha by Dorival Caymmi 3. Well You Needn’t – Braxton Kahn Trio by Thelonious Monk 4. Entre Tierra y Mar – Nico Owen, Daniel Lopez, Aaron Reedy 5. Selva – Nico Owen, William Trask, Mario Moreno 6. Drum Battle – Michael Wooten & Billy Hoke 7. Gongs – Jessica Carson 8. Orchestra Timpani Shorts – Mike Tetreault 9. Legen of Berimbau – Alfredo Muro 10. The Depth – Christian Teele 11. Shimbalaie – Banda Guilha by Mayra Correa

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Pyramix DSD256 system
  • DSD64, DSD128, DSD256, DSD Direct-Mastered 176.4kHz 24 bit, 88.2kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks mixed on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in Octave Studios' Mixroom by Paul McGowan
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media