Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Album

Audiophile Masters Volume IV

Audiophile Masters Volume IV

The Artist

Various Artists

Hand-curated audiophile masters.
Audiophile Masters, Volume IV is available as a stereo SACD/CD and download bundle and features 10 all-new high-performance tracks recorded, mixed, and mastered to be played back on the finest audio equipment in the world. From great jazz, classical, bossa nova, country, and even a few out of the ordinary gems, Audiophile Masters Volume IV is a classic reference disc worth owning. Scroll down this page to find complete samples of each track. Start with auditioning Track One where even on your computer speakers you can get a feel for how great this jazz recording is. And don't miss Deborah Schmit-Lobis', Wapiti, or Bill Kopper's Santa Amaro—All destined to be classics. Our best release yet, Audiophile Masters IV is a wonderfully recorded and performed master recording. This is a limited release so when they're gone....
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price $59.00 USD Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


The Artists

This reference-quality album begins with a blast of straight-ahead jazz with Midwinter
by the Briana Harris Quintet. This track exudes classic cool and a lush
ensemble sound. Fans of acoustic-based folk, country and Americana will
love the amazing recording of Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan’s acoustic
guitar duo “Coming Home,” the dazzling guitar and mandolin flatpicking
of Eric Wiggs on “Lickskillet”, Tyler Thompson’s earthy “Stone Tree,”
and Bonnie and Taylor Sims’ “Caught Between” with its propulsive
bluegrass feel and heavenly vocal harmonies. For classical lovers, the
Magee String Quartet offers a stirring performance of Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1 in E Minor.
For pure audiophile delight there's Michelle Pietrafitta’s drum solo,
“Thunder,” and guitarist Bill Kopper’s bossa nova-flavored jazz track,
“Santa Amaro. Finally, we offer the solo piano of Deborah Schmit-Lobis’
“Wapiti,” and Alicia Jo Straka’s “Au Printemps,” a beautifully-sung
piece with accordion and piano that is evocative of a tranquil stroll
down the streets of Paris.

01 - Briana Harris Quintet - Midwinter
02 - Tyler Thompson - Stone Tree
03 - Deborah Schmit-Lobis - Wapiti
04 - Michelle Pietrafitta - Thunder
05 - Magee String Quartet - String Quartet No.1 in E minor Bedrich Smetana
06 - Bonnie Taylor Sims - Caught Between
07 - Eric Wiggs - Lickskillet
08 - Bill Kopper - Santa Amaro
09 - Alicia Jo Straka - Au Printemps
10 - Taylor Sims Kyle Donovan - Coming Home


The original recordings were captured by Octave Records' engineer Steven Vidaic with assistance from Giselle Collazo at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado. All tracks were captured directly from the analog microphone preamps (Grace, Manley, Forssell) into the Meitner A/D converters in pure DSD 64 then into the Sonoma DSD recorder. Monitoring and rough mixing was performed on a Trident analog board. Once tracking was completed the DSD files were transferred to Steven Vidaic’s Locust Room where they were converted back to analog via synchronized 8 channel Meitner and Mytek D/A converters, to then be mixed on a Euphonix C2000 analog console and analog outboard processors. The final two-channel analog master is then converted back to DSD through the Meitner A/D converter before mastering by Octave Record's Gus Skinas.

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • DVD data disc containing DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma DSD system
  • Mixed in analog on Octave Record's Studer 963 analog console
  • DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM download
  • No compression in the mastering or mixing process
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks hand-curated on the Infinity IRSV in PS Audio's Music Room Two
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media

Record Reviews

The best volume yet!
I’m playing the 24bit 192k file of volume IV and it is pretty impressive. very enjoyable music and the recording is first rate. Scratchy throat Tyler Thompson is back and better than ever. The sound from this album is so rich, full and powerful, especially in the bass, you really feel it in your guts! This may very well be the best Volume yet. Well done, Octave Records!