Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Album

The Art of HiFi: Woodwinds

The Art of HiFi: Woodwinds

The Artist


Beautifully recorded reference disc
The Art of HiFi collection has turned into a popular series on Octave Records and we are excited to bring you the next volume, Woodwinds. Captured perfectly in DSD256 on the Pyramix Workstation, we have recorded beautiful examples of oboe, English horn, bassoon, piccolo, a variety of saxophones and more. Each mix and arrangement is carefully constructed to showcase the featured instrument. This album will give you a very real sense of how these exquisite instruments sound at their very best. Available on SACD and download.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details



The Art of HiFi: Woodwinds is a carefully crafted collection of recordings all done at Octave Studios. With well-known jazz numbers including Body and Soul by Johnny Green, Moanin' by Charles Mingus and How Deep is the Ocean by Irving Berlin, classical selections like Trois pièces: 1. Moderato by Nadia Boulanger, and a few originals written specifically for this album, Woodwinds purposefully captures the essence of each instrument. Artists include Octave's jazz superstars, Tom Amend, Seth Lewis, Dru Heller and Matt Smiley and introduces a few new artists including Jennifer Stucki and Francesca Lujan.

01 - Moanin
02 - Body and Soul
03 - Tenderly
04 - Circle
05 - How Deep is the Ocean
06 - Gentler Times
07 - Tom Thumb
08 - Hall Of Ghosts
09 - Reel Talk
10 - Trois pieces
11 - Jewish Life Prayer
12 - Sorcerer's Apprentice


The Art of HiFi: Woodwinds was recorded exclusively at Octave Studios in Pure DSD256 Production Credits: Paul McGowan- recording and mix engineer, producer Jessica Carson- executive producer, producer Terri McGowan- assistanting Gus Skinas- mastering engineer Emilie Druss- Art & digipak design Recorded and Mixed at Octave Studios, Boulder, CO

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Pyramix DSD256 system
  • DSD64, DSD128, DSD256, DSD Direct-Mastered 176.4kHz 24 bit, 88.2kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks mixed on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in Octave Studios' Mixroom by Paul McGowan
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media