Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Album

Say Somethin' Remastered

Say Somethin' Remastered

The Artist

Gabriel Mervine

Remastered with Two Previously Unreleased Tracks
Say Somethin’ by Gabriel Mervine has been one of the most popular albums on Octave Records to date. The limited edition SACD sold out quickly and the vinyl was in such high demand a second run was pressed. Say Somethin’ has been remixed by Paul McGowan on Octave’s new Pyramix workstation and sounds better than ever. This new edition includes two previously unreleased tracks from the original recording sessions. If you missed out on the first release, this is your chance to complete your collection. If you are one of the lucky ones that secured a copy of the first version, you’ll want to compare and contrast the newly mixed and mastered realism of the trumpet, clarity of the drums and piano, and presence of the bass. Say Somethin’ Remastered is available on SACD and digital download.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


Gabriel Mervine

Born in Princeton, New Jersey, Gabriel began his professional playing career at the age of thirteen. By the time he graduated high school he was already fast-tracking his way to a career playing the trumpet‚ studying privately with jazz masters Bobby Shew, Roger Ingram, and Greg Gisbert. It wasn’t long before Gabriel began performing with the big acts: Natalie Cole, Christian McBride, The Temptations, Terence Blanchard, Lettuce, Karl Denson, John Scofield, Hugh Jackman, Lonnie Smith, Russell Malone, The Who, Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley, Roberta Gambarini, the Motet, and Houston Person. Gabriel has deeply rooted himself in the traditions of Jazz and Classical music while at the same time contributing to the modern music scene, playing everything from Mariachi to Mahler.

01 - Say Somethin
02 - Feels
03 - Furor
04 - 1964
05 - Sunlight
06 - If I Had You
07 - A Foggy Day
08 - Friends
09 - But Not For Me
10 - When It's Sleepytime Down South
11 - Young at Heart
12 - Lawns


Say Somethin’ was recorded at Animal Lane in Lyons, CO in December of 2020 on one of the world’s few 32 track Sonoma recording studio by Steven Vidaic. It was originally released in 2021. Gabriel’s trumpet was recorded using a combination of a Neumann M49 Cardiod and a Royer 122 Ribbon microphone into a Grace preamp. For the piano, a pair of DPA 4009 Omni stereo pair amplified with a Grace preamplifier were used along with a vintage RCA 44BX ribbon, amplified through a Forsell microphone preamplifier. For the piano, a pair of DPA 4009 Omni stereo pair amplified with a Grace preamplifier were used along with a vintage RCA 44BX ribbon, amplified through a Forsell microphone preamplifier. A Neumann U47 and a Royer 122 Ribbon were used on the bass as well as Forsell preamplifiers. The drums were recorded using a Soundelux iFET 7 connected to a Grace preamplifier, a Sennheiser 421also connected through a Grace preamplifier, and a rare Tim de Paravacini stereo AKG C24 vacuum tube microphone into a Forsell preamplifier. To mic the room, a pair of Rode stereo omnis through a Forsell preamplifier were used. Captured on the Sonoma recording system and mixed on the Pyramix at Octave Studios. Gabriel Mervine- trumpet Tom Amend- piano Seth Lewis- bass Alejandro Castaño- drums Steven Vidaic- producer, recording engineer Paul McGowan- mix engineer Gus Skinas- mastering engineer Jessica Carson- executive producer Jennifer Bobola- cover art Seth Carson- digipak design

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma system
  • DSD64, DSD128, DSD256, DSD Direct-Mastered 176.4kHz 24 bit, 88.2kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks mixed on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in Octave Studios' Mixroom by Paul McGowan
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media