Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Album



The Artist

Erik Deutsch, Theo Bleckmann and Sly5thAve

Live, perfectly executed avant-garde
Reason is a live recording by world-touring pianist Erik Deutsch, avant-garde singer Theo Bleckmann & multi-instrumentalist Sly5thAve. This power trio comes together to bring us a uniquely textured show, captured perfectly in Pure DSD. With thoughtful cover song choices like God is a DJ by Pink, This Woman's Work by Kate Bush and a few originals from Erik and Theo, this album seamlessly blends new and familiar. Captured in Pure DSD and available as SACD and download.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


Erik Deutsch, Theo Bleckmann & Sly5thAve

Erik Deutsch

Having first come to prominence as a member of the funk-jazz collective Fat Mama, pianist/composer Erik has taken his talents across the globe to play with some of the finest musicians alive, performing and recording with jazz, pop, rock, bluegrass and country artists like The Black Crowes, Dixie Chicks, Norah Jones, Rosanne Cash, Citizen Cope, Charlie Hunter, Leftover Salmon, Shooter Jennings, Alice Smith, Shelby LynneTheo Bleckmann, Jessi Coulter, Joe Russo, Allison Moorer, Phillip Phillips, Dori FreemanJoey Arias, Devotchka, Erin McKeown, Scott Amendola, Teddy Thompson, Ben Allison, The Motet, Sam Bush, Allison Moorer, Daniel Rodriguez, Steven Bernstein, Hannah Cohen, James Blood Ulmer, Jessica Lurie, Ellery Eskelin, Billy Martin, Bobby Previte, Levon Helm, John Scofield, Phil Lesh, Jim Campilongo, Bill Kreutzman, Nels Cline, Todd Clouser, Jenny Scheinman, Scott Metzger, Elvis Perkins, John Leventhal, Tony Malaby, Bob DiPiero, Autre ne Veut, Greensky Bluegrass, Trevor Dunn, Allison Miller, Frally Hines, Del McCoury, Don Byron, Jeff Coffin, Jefferson Hamer, Chris Robinson, Greg Garing, Shawn Pelton, Lee Townsend, Skerik, Brandon Seabrook, Warren Haynes, Stuart Bogie, Stanton Moore, Karl Denson, Steve Berlin, Ron Miles, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Michael Blake, Anton Fier, Fruition, Sunny Ozell, Todd Sickafoose, Alto Reed, and Art Lande. 

In 2022, Erik became the full-keyboardist with The Black Crowes touring the US, Europe, Japan and Australia.

Theo Bleckmann

Theo Bleckmann is a multi GRAMMY® nominated vocalist, composer and ECM recording artist who has recorded over 17 albums and collaborated with artists such as Ambrose Akinmusire, Sheila Jordan, Kneebody, Ben Monder, John Hollenbeck, Phil Kline, David Lang, Ulysses Owens, Bang on a Can All-Stars, and, most prominently, with Meredith Monk since 1994. Bleckmann has been interviewed by Terry Gross on NPR’s Fresh Air and appeared on the David Letterman show with Laurie Anderson. He has consistently appeared in top spots in DownBeat polls, and is a recipient of the prestigious JAZZ ECHO award from the Deutsche Phono-Akademie in his native Germany. Most recently he released an album with the celebrated brass quartet ‘The Westerlies’, toured Finland with the Oulu Symphony Orchestra and UMO Jazz Big Band performing his repertoire and own compositions. Most notably, Pulitzer-Prize-winning composer David Lang wrote a monodrama for Theo Bleckmann which was commissioned by the Japan Society and directed by legendary actor/director Yoshi Oida. The entire production was taken to Tokyo in Feb of 2023. A recording of it will be forthcoming


Sly5thAve is the project of multi-instrumentalist, producer, arranger, and composer Sylvester Uzoma Onyejiaka II, whose sophisticated compositions are shaped by his faith in hip hop, and deep understanding of soul, R&B and jazz. Having released ‘The Invisible Man: An Orchestral Tribute To Dr. Dre’ to critical claim, Sly5thAve returned in 2020 with ‘What It Is’. Showcasing his abilities as a producer and collaborative musician, the LP featured the likes of Denitia, Marlon Craft, Melissa McMillan and Grammy-nominated Thalma de Freitas and celebrates Sly5thAve’s multifaceted musical nature. 2022 saw him collaborating with fellow composer and pianist Roberto Verástegui on ‘Agua de Jamaica’ and with New York MC/lyricist JSWISS on ‘Somebody’s Gotta Do It’. His prolific passion for collaboration and creation is set to continue into 2023.

01 - God is a DJ
02 - Easy
03 - Lopin Along Thru The Cosmos
04 - Wuthering Heights
05 - Quemo
06 - Happiness
07 - Nearer Suns
08 - Sunstorm
09 - Reason
10 - This Woman's Work


Theo Bleckmann: voice and live electronics, Erik Deutsch: piano, keyboards and live electronics, Sly5thAve: bass clarinet, saxophone, flute and live electronics, Steven Vidaic- recording engineer, Giselle Collazo- assisting, Jay Elliott- mix engineer, Gus Skinas- mastering engineer, Jessica Carson- executive producer, Theo Bleckmann- cover art, Emilie Druss- digipak design, Recorded at Dazzle, Denver CO, Mixed at Octave Studios, Boulder, CO

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma system
  • DSD64, DSD128, DSD256, DSD Direct-Mastered 176.4kHz 24 bit, 88.2kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks mixed on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in Octave Studios' Mixroom by Jay Elliott
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media