Issue 184

Issue 184

Written by Frank Doris

Mike Kuller, former writer for The Absolute Sound, has a new book, The Lucky Audiophile. It’s the story of Mike’s lifelong journey through music and audio, and has lots of details about high-end gear, bands, and some of the people involved in our audio world. (Full disclosure – I received an advance copy and have a blurb on the back cover.) It’s available at Amazon via this link.

The Audiophile Society, founded by David Chesky of Chesky Records and HDtracks, is offering Copper readers a free hi-res audio download of The Hi-Fi Collective album. It’s produced in The Audiophile Society’s 3D Mega-Dimensional Sound, a proprietary immersive audio process that offers mixes tailored for both speakers and headphones. Copper readers can get their download here. It’ll be available for 90 days.

In this issue: B. Jan Montana is back with a new series, Pilgrimage to Europe. Tom Gibbs concludes his report on Florida Audio Expo 2023. Anne E. Johnson looks at the lives of saxophone great Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, and Heinrich Schütz, who composed the foundation for German classical music. J.I. Agnew tells us about a clever record centering device. Our Mindful Melophile Don Kaplan begins a new series, “And a One, and a Two…” on unique music written for solo or duo performers. Jay Jay French has thoughts about the movie Tár.

I interview Dave Rusan of Rusan Guitarworks, builder of Prince’s “Cloud” axes, and cover Octave Records’ latest release: Gabriella by Miguel Espinoza Fusion, with a conversation with Espinoza about the group’s heady mix of flamenco, Indian, world and other music. Tom Methans offers a tribute to the late guitarist Gary Rossington of Lynyrd Skynyrd. Andrew Daly has a conversation with Michael Jurin of underappreciated indie band Stellastarr. Howard Kneller puts Bache Audio in The Listening Chair. We conclude the issue with some wordplay, magnetic attraction, and a slow ride.

Staff Writers:

J.I. Agnew, Ray Chelstowski, Andrew Daly, Harris Fogel, Jay Jay French, Tom Gibbs, Roy Hall, Rich Isaacs, Anne E. Johnson, Don Kaplan, Ken Kessler, Don Lindich, Stuart Marvin, Tom Methans, B. Jan Montana, Rudy Radelic, Tim Riley, Wayne Robins, Alón Sagee, Ken Sander, John Seetoo, Dan Schwartz, Russ Welton, Adrian Wu

Contributing Editors:
Ivan Berger, Steven Bryan Bieler, Jack Flory, Steve Kindig, Ed Kwok, Ted Shafran, David Snyder, Bob Wood

“Cartoon Bob” D’Amico

James Whitworth, Peter Xeni

Parting Shots:
James Schrimpf, B. Jan Montana, Rich Isaacs (and others)

Audio Anthropology Photos:
Howard Kneller, Steve Rowell

Frank Doris

Paul McGowan

Advertising Sales:
No one. We are free from advertising and subscribing to Copper is free.

Copper’s Comments Policy:

Copper’s comments sections are moderated. While we encourage thoughtful and spirited discussion, please be civil.

The editor and Copper’s editorial staff reserve the right to delete comments according to our discretion. This includes: political commentary; posts that are abusive, insulting, demeaning or defamatory; posts that are in violation of someone’s privacy; comments that violate the use of copyrighted information; posts that contain personal information; and comments that contain links to suspect websites (phishing sites or those that contain viruses and so on). Spam will be blocked or deleted.

Copper is a place to be enthusiastic about music, audio and other topics. It is most especially not a forum for political discussion, trolling, or rude behavior. Thanks for your consideration.

 – FD

Back to Copper home page

1 of 2