Glitch Transitions

Glitch Transitions

Written by Frank Doris

Since moving to the new Copper platform, there have been some glitches. We’ve fixed many, but others remain to be addressed, from temporarily-disappearing articles to random fuzzy-looking images and other hiccups. If you see something odd, please let me know at

Copper writer Wayne Robins has a new subscription newsletter called Critical Conditions by Wayne Robins. We encourage you to read it – I’ve been enjoying it a lot. You can read it and subscribe (it’s free for now) at In this issue: We launch a new column, Speaker Builder, with an interview with PS Audio’s head speaker designer Chris Brunhaver. Anne E. Johnson gives insight into opera composer Jean-Baptiste Lully and the Indigo Girls. Ken Sander gets a job at Elektra Records. Don Kaplan begins another new column, The Mindful Melophile, covering recommended recordings. J.I. Agnew’s The Giants of Tape series features the rare and mighty MCI JH-110. Russ Welton concludes his interview with producer, film composer and musician C.J. Vanston and continues his explorations into subwoofer optimization. Stuart Marvin looks at the iconoclastic musical career of Chris Whitley. Richard Murison asks: DSD; Is it PCM, or isn’t it? Tom Gibbs explores various reissues from progressive rockers Yes. Ray Chelstowski covers the new Herbie Hancock anthology from Vinyl Me, Please. Alón Sagee goes up against a not-so-great-Wall. John Seetoo ponders: how much do we really hear when we listen? Rudy Radelic begins a comprehensive series on the music of Cal Tjader and Cliff Chenfeld gives us more recommended new music in the latest installment of Be Here Now. Our audio/visual department wraps up the issue with unwanted surface noise, nearfield listening, a reel swingin' party and a nightingale’s song.

Staff Writers:

J.I. Agnew, Ray Chelstowski, Cliff Chenfeld, Jay Jay French, Tom Gibbs, Roy Hall, Rich Isaacs, Anne E. Johnson, Don Kaplan, Don Lindich, Tom Methans, B. Jan Montana, Rudy Radelic, Tim Riley, Wayne Robins, Alón Sagee, Ken Sander, Larry Schenbeck, John Seetoo, Dan Schwartz, Russ Welton, WL Woodward, Adrian Wu

Contributing Writers:
Ivan Berger, Steven Bryan Bieler, Robert Heiblim, Ken Kessler, Stuart Marvin, Bob Wood

“Cartoon Bob” D’Amico

James Whitworth, Peter Xeni

Parting Shots:
James Schrimpf, B. Jan Montana, Rich Isaacs (and others)

Frank Doris

Paul McGowan

Advertising Sales:
No one. We are free from advertising and subscribing to Copper is free.

 – FD

Back to Copper home page