Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Album



The Artist

Megan Burtt

You're hooked from the first note
"Pulsing, powerful and lovely, Megan Burtt gracefully manipulates words and melody into a sultry delight. Her velvety voice seeps right into your being as she pulls you into the gorgeous foray." Guitar Magazine.

Octave Record's latest release, Shelter, by singer/songwriter Megan Burtt is, an extraordinarily beautiful recording and performance. A must-have for any music lover. Beautifully captured in pure DSD by producer and engineer John McVey, every note and phrase in this amazing work is a show-off piece.

"The first time I listened to Megan's gorgeous voice I was sure it must have been Norah Jones." Paul McGowan

Turn the lights down low, pour yourself a glass of Merlot and close your eyes as singer and songwriter, Megan Burtt's seductive voice and introspective songwriting transport you to another place and time.
Regular price $19.00 USD
Regular price $29.00 USD Sale price $19.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


Megan Burtt

Megan Burtt is an internationally decorated touring singer/songwriter.  She is the winner of the Kerrville NewFolk, Rocky Mountain Folk Festival, and Westword Music Award and a finalist in Mountain NewSong, Songwriter Serenade, and Great American Song Contest.

In 2010 she released “It Ain’t Love”, a 12-song collection she made with bandmates, among them, Louis Cato (of Jon Batiste and Stay Human, house band for Stephen Colbert, Marcus Miller, Snarky Puppy, and Bobby McFerrin). She worked with the same group for her 2015 release “The Bargain” which charts her recovery from a serious illness with songs that move from darkness to light. In 2013 she released “In Good Company: The Colorado Sessions” a collaborative album of co-writes with Colorado bands including SHEL and Covenhoven.

Megan has toured as a headlining artist, and as support for acts including Gregory Alan Isakov, Mark Cohen, Brett Dennen, Glenn Phillips of Toad The Wet Sprocket, Lissie, Stephen Kellogg and Leanne Rimes. In 2015 she collaborated with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra as a featured artist.

01 - Avalanche
02 - Revolutionary
03 - Anchor
04 - Wings
05 - Hollow Bone
06 - Language
07 - What Love Is For
08 - Backseat Driver
09 - Hardwired
10 - State of Mind


Shelter was recorded on the Sonoma DSD system at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado and Cinder Sound in Longmont, CO. Producer and engineer John McVey poured both heart and soul into this project and the results are nothing short of remarkable. We can't wait for you to hear this on a High-End audio system. Mixed and mastered on Octave's Studer analog console, the work was mastered by Gus Skinas. Jessica Carson was the Executive Producer.
- Vocals, guitars, piano, background vocals - Megan Burtt - Guitars, background vocal - John McVey'Drums - Sean Mullins - Electric and upright bass - Jeremy McDonald - Piano, synth - Eric Moon - Guitars - Dave Devine Violin, Viola - Russel Durham Cello - Allison Drenkow Upright bass - Ethan Jodziewicz Woodwinds - Conor Brown Recording & Mix Engineer - John McVey Produced by John McVey and Megan Burtt Tape op - Gus Skinas and Giselle Collazo Mastering Engineer - Gus Skinas Executive Producer - Jessica Carson Digipak Design - Emilie Druss Recorded at Animal Lane, Lyons, CO and Cinder Sound, Longmont, CO Mixed at PS Audio, Boulder, CO

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma DSD system
  • DSDDirect Mastered PCM download: 352.8kHz 24 bit, 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM
  • DSDDirect Mastered DSD download: DSD64, DSD128, DSD256 (originally recorded in DSD64 and real-time remodulated to higher DSD versions)
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks hand-curated on the aspen FR30 in PS Audio's Music Room Two
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media


Megan Burtt has entertained audiences all over the country. Watch as she tells us about her music and playing at the ultimate live venue, Red Rocks.