Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Album

The Art of HiFi: Strings

The Art of HiFi: Strings

The Artist


A must-have reference disc
The Art of HiFi: Strings is Volume 4 in Octave's new audiophile-centric series. This edition takes us on a journey of well-known stringed instruments like violin, viola and cello, but breaks into lesser heard instruments like the nyckelharpa. Each track has a prominent feature so you can truly be immersed and hear the nuanced differences between the instruments. Recorded at Octave Studios in DSD256 on the Pyramix Workstation, this is offered on SACD and download.
Regular price $29.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details



The Art of HiFi: Strings takes us on a journey of stringed instruments played by world-class musicians. Sandra Wong showcases violin and nyckelharpa with technical precision and a unique emotional execution. Well-known cellist, Zuill Bailey, never disappoints with his version of BWV 1007 Suite No. 1 in G Major by J.S. Bach. Conner Hollingsworth exhibits many different upright bass styles on the classic Up a Lazy River. Katie Mintle gives a delicate performance of The Beatles's, Let it Bet, on the harp. Art of HiFi Volume 4 features many other stringed instruments captured perfectly in DSD256.

01 - Spiegel im Spiegel
02 - All Of You
03 - BWV 1007 Suite No. 1 in G Major Allemande
04 - Up A Lazy River
05 - Spelmansgladje
06 - August
07 - Let it Be
08 - Road To Westcliffe
09 - The Tower
10 - Delta Shadows


The Art of HiFi: Strings was recorded exclusively at Octave Studios in Pure DSD256 Production Credits: Paul McGowan- recording and mix engineer, producer Jessica Carson- executive producer, producer Terri McGowan- assistanting Gus Skinas- mastering engineer Emilie Druss- Art & digipak design Recorded and Mixed at Octave Studios, Boulder, CO

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Pyramix DSD256 system
  • DSD64, DSD128, DSD256, DSD Direct-Mastered 176.4kHz 24 bit, 88.2kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 24-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks mixed on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in Octave Studios' Mixroom by Paul McGowan
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media