Something Old / Something New

    Dan’s 100 Best Albums of 2017!

    Issue 48

    [If you’re looking for yet another remaster of Kind Of Blue or SPLHCB 50—this is not your list. If, however, you’re looking for new music, maybe outrageous music—Dan is your guy. Agree, disagre, whatever—I hope you enjoy this list. —-Ed.]

    In no particular order, really – stream of consciousness type of stuff, here is my list of the best 100 albums released in 2017. This is just my opinion, and since I was given the platform, I’m telling the truth! I don’t think there’s a stinker in there, but you may disagree. Whelp. That’s as far as that conversation will go.

    If you have a (kind) 2017 recommendation, scribble it down below in the comment section, and I’ll make sure I seek it out and give it a listen. And who knows, someone may read your recommendation and their life will never be the same (yes!). My hope is that this list will introduce you to some new bands and maybe even bring you a new favorite Artist/Group to keep an eye on for a new release. I referenced the bands website so you can go out and support the band/label directly, rather than giving your coin up for the convenience of shopping through retailers.

    Follow me on INSTAGRAM : mccauley82_denver or check out my vinyl collection at #mccvinylvault . Had a ball writing my silly reviews this year, and hope some of you had the time to read them. Have a great 2018, and happy listening!

    1. OCS – Memory of a Cut Off Head (Castle Face Records) castlefacerecords.com
    2. Flat Worms – Flat Worms (Castle Face Records) castlefacerecords.com
    3. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard with Mild High Club – Sketches of Brunswick East (Flightless Records) flighlessrecords.com
    4. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Murder Of The Universe (Flightless Records) flightlessrecords.com
    5. Oh Sees – Orc (Castle Face Records) castlefacerecords.com
    6. Cobra Man – New Driveway Soundtrack (Goner Records) goner-records.com
    7. Dean Ween Group – The deaner album (ATO Records) thedeanweengroup.com
    8. Shakey Graves – And The Horse He Rode In On (Dualtone Records) shakeygraves.bandcamp.com
    9. Vincent – Masseduction (Loma Vista Recordings) www.ilovestvincent.com
    10. Run The Jewels – Run The Jewels 3 (Run The Jewels, Inc.) runthejewels.com
    11. The Flaming Lips – Oczy Mlody (Warner Bros) flaminglips.com
    12. The Mountain Goats – Goths (Merge Records) mountain-goats.com
    13. Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. (Aftermath Entertainment) kendricklamar.com
    14. Poolside – Heat (via Bandcamp) poolsidemusic.com
    15. Kadavar – Rough Times (Nuclear Blast) kadavar.com
    16. Björk – Utopia (One Little Indian Records) bjork.com
    17. Guided By Voices – August By Cake (Guided by Voices, Inc.) gbv.com
    18. Gorillaz – Humanz (Parlophone Records) gorillaz.com
    19. Grandaddy – Last Place (30th Century Records) grandaddymusic.com
    20. Father John Misty – Pure Comedy (Sub Pop Records ) fatherjohnmisty.com
    21. Ty Segall – Ty Segall (Drag City Records) dragcity.com
    22. Fleet Foxes – Crack Up (Nonesuch Records) fleetfoxes.com
    23. Grizzly Bear – Painted Ruins (RCA Records) grizzly-bear.net
    24. Charlie Feathers – Best of Sun Records Sessions (Sun Record Company) sunrecords.com
    25. Elvis Presley – A Boy From Tupelo The Complete 1953-55 Recordings (Sony Music) elvis.com
    26. Roger Waters – Is This the Life We Really Want? (Columbia Records) rogerwaters.com
    27. Gucci Mane – Droptopwop Mixtape (Atlantic Records) guccimaneonline.com
    28. Arca – Arca (XL Recordings) XLrecordings.com
    29. Migos – Culture (Atlantic Records) atlanticrecords.com
    30. Thundercat – Drunk (Brainfeeder) brainfeeder.net
    31. Lana Del Rey – Lust For Life (Interscope Records) lanadelrey
    32. Drake – More Life (Republic Records) republicrecords.com
    33. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – POLYGONDWANALAND (Free for all to distribute!) kinggizzardandthelizardwizard.com
    34. Big Thief – Capacity (Bandcamp) bigthief.bandcamp.com
    35. Lil’ B – Black Ken (BasedWorld Records) basedworld.com
    36. Jack Johnson – All the Light Above It Too (Brushfire Records) jackjohnsonmusic.com
    37. Syd – Fin (Columbia Records) internetsyd.com
    38. Open Mike Eagle – Brick Body Kids Still Daydream (Mello Music Group) mikeeagle.net
    39. Future – HNDRXX (Epic Records) epicrecords.com
    40. Julien Baker – Turn Out the Lights (Bandcamp) julienbaker.bandcamp.com
    41. Jlin – Black Origami (Planet Mu) jlin.bandcamp.com
    42. Fever Ray – Plunge (Rabid Records) rabidrecords.com
    43. Jay:Z – 4:44 ( Roc Nation ) lifeandtimes.com
    44. Mount Eerie – A Crow Looked at Me (P.W. Elverum & Sun) pwelverumandsun.com
    45. LCD Soundsystem – American Dream (Columbia Records) lcdsoundsystem.com
    46. The War On Drugs – A Deeper Understanding (Atlantic Records) thewarondrugs.net
    47. Kehlani – SweetSexySavage (Atlantic Records) kehlanimusic.com
    48. Kamasi Washington – Harmony of Difference (Young Turks Records) kamasiwashington.com
    49. Tyler, the Creator – Flower Boy (Columbia Records) columbiarecords.com
    50. LateNightTales – BADBADNOTGOD (Late Night Tales) latenighttales.co.uk
    51. Beck – Colors (Capital Records) beck.com
    52. Howe Gelb – Future Standards (Fire Records) howegelbmusic.bandcamp.com
    53. Destroyer – Ken (Merge Records) mergerecords.com
    54. Michael Nau – Some Twist (Suicide Squeeze Records) suicidesqueeze.net
    55. Vince Staples – Big Fish Theory (Def Jam Recordings) defjam.com
    56. Chicano Batman – Freedom is Free (ATO Records) chicanobatman.com
    57. Bonnie “Prince” Billy – Best Troubador (Drag City Records) dragcity.com
    58. Moses Sumney – Aromanticism (Jagjaguwar) mosessumney.com
    59. King Krule – The Ooz (True Panther Sounds) truepanther.com
    60. Deer Tick – VOL. 1 (Patisan Records) deertickmusic.com
    61. SZA – Ctrl (Top Dawg Entertainment) szactrl.com
    62. Chad VanGaalen – Light Information (Sub Pop Records) subpop.com
    63. Ambrose Akinmusire (Blue Note Records) ambroseakinmusire.com
    64. Arcade Fire – Everything Now (Sonovox Records) everythingnow.com
    65. Belle and Sebastian – How To Solve Our Human Problems Pt.1 (Matador Records) belleandsebastian.com
    66. Benjamin Booker – Witness (ATO Records) benjaminbookermusic.com
    67. Cherry Glazerr – Apocalipstick (Secretly Canadian ) cherryglazerr.bandcamp.com
    68. Wolf Parade – Cry Cry Cry (Sub Pop Records) wolfparade.com
    69. Nine Inch Nails – Add Violence (The Null Corporation ) nin.com
    70. Big Boi – Boomiverse (Epic Records) bigboi.com
    71. Wooden Wand – Clipper Ship (Three Lobed Recordings) woodenwand.org
    72. The cactus Blossoms – You’re Dreaming (Red House Records) thecactusblossoms.com
    73. Cody ChesnuTT – My Love Devine Degree (One Little Indian Records) cchesnutt.com
    74. Conor Oberst – Salutations (Nonesuch Records, Inc.) conoroberst.com
    75. R.B. – Naturality (Castle Face Records) www.castlefacerecords.com
    76. Shabazz Palaces – Quazarz (Sub Pop Records) shabazzpalaces.com
    77. Marilyn Manson – Heaven Upside Down (Loma Vista Recordings) marilynmanson.com
    78. Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice (Milk Records) milkl.milklrecords.com.au
    79. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley – Stony Hill (Republic Records) damianmarleymusic.com
    80. Curtis Harding – Face Your Fear (ANTI Records) curtisharding.com
    81. Damaged Bug – Bunker Funk (Castle Face Records) castlefacerecords.com
    82. The Magnetic Fields – 50 Song Memoir (Nonesuch Records, Inc.) houseoftomorrow.com
    83. Mac Demarco – This Old Dog (Captured Tracks) macdemarco.bandcamp.com
    84. Action Bronson – Blue Chips 7000 (Vice Records) actionbronson.com
    85. A. Witch – L.A. Witch (Suicide Squeeze Records) www.suicidesqueeze.net
    86. I.D – The Never Story (Dreamville Records) www.jidsv.com
    87. Margo Price – All American Made (Third Man Records) thirdmanrecords.com
    88. Future Islands – The Far Filed (4AD Records) future-islands.com
    89. Flotation Toy Warning – The Machine That Made Us (Talitres Records) flotationtoywarning.co.uk
    90. Feist – Pleasure (Interscope Records) listentofeist.com
    91. Devin The Dude – Acoustic Levitation (Coughee Brothaz Enterprise) cougheebrothaz.blogspot.com
    92. Deerhoof – Mountain Moves (Joyful Noise Recordings) deerhoof.bandcamp.com
    93. Daniele Luppi & Parquet Courts – Milano (30th Century Records) milanoalbum.com
    94. The Motels – If Not Now Then When (Sunset Blvd. Records) themotels.com
    95. Jerry Garcia Band – Live Volume 8 (Round Records) jerrygarcia.com
    96. Grateful Dead – Long Strange Trip Documentary (Amazon Music) amazon.com
    97. David Bowie – No Plan (Columbia Records) davidbowie.com
    98. Priests – Nothing Feels Natural (Sister Polygon Records) priests.bandcamp.com
    99. Dan Auerbach – Waiting on a Song (Easy Eye Sound) easyeyesound.com
    100. Real Estate – In Mind (Domino Recording Company) realestatetheband.com   
    101. —-enter your favorite here!!

    Leave a Reply

    Also From This Issue

    Oboe Quartets

    What does an oboe sound like? If you fancy yourself…

    What Is a Bass? Part 2: Jack’s $4,000 Revolution

    Last issue I started writing about what made an electric…

    Brit Psychedelics, Continued

    Cream’s Disraeli Gears is being moved to a later issue.…

    Toronto Skyline

    Subscribe to Copper Magazine and never miss an issue.

    Stop by for a tour:
    Mon-Fri, 8:30am-5pm MST

    4865 Sterling Dr.
    Boulder, CO 80301
    1-800-PSAUDIO

    Join the hi-fi family

    Stop by for a tour:
    4865 Sterling Dr.
    Boulder, CO 80301

    Join the hi-fi family

    linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram