Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Album

Audiophile Masters Volume V

Audiophile Masters Volume V

The Artist

Various Artists

A deliciously rendered work from the heart
Audiophile Masters V is a beautifully hand-curated collection of the best from Octave artists. Start with My Nitride Heart where the exotic sounds of the Handpan are combined with Marimba and Tabla in a new-age style instrumentation that will put a smile on your face. Track after glorious track, from jazz and heart-searching soul to lively acoustic picking, listeners will be treated to some of the best Octave has to offer. Audiophile Masters V also includes the lovely solo performance of one of the world's greatest musicians, cellist Zuill Bailey. Each and every track is an audiophile classic, perfect to just put on and listen or dig deep into every cut. Recorded exclusively on Pure DSD, this latest Octave release is a wonderful sampler of the best in music. As always, fully playable on any CD, DVD, or SACD player or simply download right onto your music player.
Regular price $19.00 USD
Regular price $29.00 USD Sale price $19.00 USD
On Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Choose your format
View full details


The Artists

Octave Records mission is two
fold: support musicians and their music and push forward the state of
the recording arts. Audiophile Masters V does both beautifully. If
you've not yet had a chance to experience the energy and musicality of
original music from Briana Harris, you're in for a treat. Briana's
quintet mixes hard-bop roots with chamber jazz touches producing music
that always leaves room for the unexpected. One of our favorite bands is
Foxfeather featuring the amazing Carly Ricks Smith on lead vocals. Have
a listen to The Nature of Things to hear what we believe is
some of the finest original music coming out today.
Zuill Bailey's rare combination of celebrated artistry, technical
wizardry, and engaging personality has secured his place as one of the
most sought after and active cellists today. A consummate concerto
soloist, Mr. Bailey has appeared at Disney Hall, the Kennedy Center, the
United Nations, Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and
the Metropolitan Museum of Art. In his storied career, he has
collaborated with such conductors as Itzhak Perlman, Alan Gilbert,
Andrew Litton, Neeme Jarvi, Giancarlo Guerrero, James DePriest, Jun
Markl, Carlos Kalmar, Andrey Boreyko, Krzysztof Urbanski, Jacques
Lacombe, Grant Llewellyn, and Stanislav Skrowaczewski. What more needs
to be written?
Audiophile Masters V is packed full of fresh talent. From the up and
coming singer Zoe Berman, seasoned road warriors Taylor Sims & Kyle
Donovan, to Colin Kelly's soul-wrenching ballad Diana from the band Augustus, this collection of Octave Masters is a must-have.

01 - More Than Physics - My Nitride Heart
02 - Briana Harris - Thin Places
03 - Foxfeather - Nature of Things
04 - Joe D Esposito - She ll Be Right
05 - Many Mountains - Endless Time
06 - Zuill Bailey - BWV 1007 Suite No. 1 in G Major - Prelude
07 - Tom Amend - Concatenate
08 - Zoe Berman - Perfect Storm
09 - Taylor Sims Kyle Donovan - Lowland
10 - Augustus - Diana


Audiophile Masters V was recorded exclusively at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado using Octave Records’ Pure DSD process and the Sonoma multi-track DSD recording system. 9 out of the 10 tracks were mixed in analog on Octave Record's Studer 961 analog mixing console before being transferred back to DSD64 using a Meitner A/D Converter while Track 8 (Zoe Berman) was mixed on the Pyramix DSD system after conversion using Bit Perfect's custom Zephiir filter. Audiophile Masters V is playable on any SACD, CD, DVD, or Blu-ray player. It also has a high-resolution DSD layer that is accessible using a PS Audio SACD transport, or by copying the DSD tracks on the included DVD data disc. In addition, the master DSD and PCM files are available for purchase and download (including DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz/24-bit, 96kHz/24-bit and 44.1kHz/16-bit PCM). The album was recorded and produced by Steven Vidaic and mastered by Gus Skinas. Giselle Collazo, assistant recording engineer. Octave Records’ Jessica Carson was the executive producer.

Album Features

  • One pressing Austrian gold-pressed dual-layer SACD
  • Pure DSD + PROMastered CD layers
  • DVD data disc containing DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16 bit PCM
  • Pure DSD recorded on the Sonoma DSD system
  • DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz 24 bit, 96kHz 24 bit, 44.1kHz 16-bit PCM download
  • CD layer of SACD playable on any CD player
  • Mastering monitored through the PS Audio DirectStream DAC
  • All tracks hand-curated on the PS Audio FR 30 reference loudspeaker in PS Audio's Music Room Two
  • Limited edition one-pressing physical media

Record Reviews

My new favorite!
Volume V is now my new favorite. Excellently recorded and beautiful music! Sounds so much like analog with not a trace of digital artifacts in the recordings. I don’t know how Octave did it, but it is truly a remarkable achievement, this recording is so musical.
Bravo Octave Records
Percussion and female voices sound detailed yet warm. The soundstage is wider and deeper than most other recordings and the separation of instruments/performs is amazing. Even the 3 tracks that I already own have me smiling. Foxfeather sounds very detailed. Bravo Octave Records.